Sumiki-Umezawa Memorial Award

In commemoration of the groundbreaking achievements of Dr Yusuke Sumiki (4th President, 1963–1970) and Dr Hamao Umezawa (5th President, 1970–1986) as Japan’s leading antibiotics researchers, the Japan Antibiotics Research Association (then Japan Penicillin Research Association) inaugurated the Sumiki-Umezawa Memorial Award in 1987 to recognize excellent academic performance by talented researchers.

The Award is intended to promote world-leading research. The winners are thus expected to produce creative studies going forward.

The Award was originally funded by patent fees for Blasticidin S, Mikamycin and Variotin – commercial products resulting from joint research by Drs Sumiki and Umezawa. Later, Dr Hiroshi Yonehara, the first chairperson of the Award’s selection committee, donated part of his personal assets to the fund to help perpetuate the Award.

In June 2005, we also sought sponsorship to ensure the Award’s viability, to which the following 15 companies responded favorably. Since 2006, we have been conferring the Award under new bylaws. We received further donations in 2012 from the late Keiichi Takeda (via Haruhito Takeda, his successor) and in 2019 from the Microbial Chemistry Research Foundation.

List of contributors

  • Astellas Pharma Inc.
  • Sankyo Co., Ltd.
  • Shionogi & Co., Ltd.
  • Daiichi Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • Dainippon Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • Meiji Seika Kaisha, Limited
  • Eisai Co., Ltd.
  • Kyorin Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • Kyowa Hakko Kogyo Co., Ltd.
  • Sumitomo Pharmaceuticals Co., Ltd.
  • Taisho Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • Takeda Pharmaceutical Company Limited
  • Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd.
  • Nippon Kayaku Co., Ltd.
  • Mitsubishi Pharma Corporation

(Company names as of June 2005)

The late Keiichi Takeda (2012)
Microbial Chemistry Research Foundation (since 2019)